Sign Up   |  
Log In
Username:
Password:
Log In
  |   Contact Us

South Carolina Marriage License Info

Home   |   Local Services   |   Reception Sites   |   Specials & Deals   |   Community   |   Marriage License   |   Wedding Blog   |   Link To Us   |   About Us
If you and your partner have decided to get married in the state of South Caroline, there are some legal matters you need to get taken care of. Don’t wait until the last minute to do so. You can apply for your South Carolina marriage license by going to the clerk’s office; you can usually go to anyone that is in the county you are planning to get married in. You may also find these clerk offices are in the county probate court or the circuit court.

There is a one time fee for a South Carolina marriage license at $25; the only payments accepted are cash. There are no residency requirements here, so you do not have to be a current or previous resident of South Carolina to receive a marriage license that is valid through out the state. Once you have paid for the marriage license, there is a mandatory one day waiting period. Most states don’t include Saturdays, Sundays or holidays towards the one day waiting period. In most cases, the day you apply for the marriage license isn’t counted towards the one day waiting period.

After the one day waiting period, you will receive your marriage license and are free to get married right away (since there is no waiting period for marriage). To be able to get married without the need of parental consent, you and your partner will need to be 18 years or older. The two of you will need to bring birth certificates to verify that you are legal to wed. If you or your partner is not of legal age, you will need to have one parent or legal guardian present. If for some reason a parent or guardian can not be present, due to death, divorce or separation, you will need to provide proper evidence of the case. You will still need to bring a certified copy of your birth certificate.

No blood tests or physical exams are needed from you or your partner to get a marriage license in South Carolina. Once you receive your marriage license, it will never expire. If you or your partner were once married and are now widowed or divorced, you will need to provide the date of the divorce or the spouse’s death. Once you have been married to your partner, you will receive a piece of paper called a marriage certificate. You will need to use this to present to government agencies about your name change (i.e. motor vehicles and social security department). You will also need to present this to non government institutions that you do business with, such as banks, employers, credit card agencies and memberships.

You can use the legal name change kit provided to you; you can either complete the necessary forms before or after your wedding ceremony, but is recommended that you finish the forms before your wedding; this will prove to be very convenient for you.

Marriages that are not allowed in the state of South Carolina include same sex marriages, common law marriages and marriages by proxy. Cousin marriages are allowed here.
 
 
Advertise | Business Login | Local Services | Specials & Deals | Community | Marriage License | Wedding Blog | Link To Us | About Us